top of page
Search
  • Commander Root

Book Recommendations

Updated: Mar 2, 2020


As you all well know, I am a bookworm. So much so, that I am composing a list of books and series that I love, and I hope you will read them. Thank you! (They are in no particular order)


  • Artemis Fowl: This Artemis is not a hunter, but he will have you hunting for more in this book series by Eoin Colfer. Twelve-year-old Artemis is a criminal mastermind, whose father disappeared two years ago. Artemis succeeds in capturing Captain Holly Short of the LEPrecon with the help of his bodyguard, Butler. Chaos ensues as this crowd of characters will have you laughing, crying, and everything in between. Plus, there is a movie being made by Disney in August this year, so if you read the series feel free to rant with me about how it will be compared to the book.

  • Harry Potter: You know the story; the boy wizard lives with his terrible aunt, uncle, and cousin who makes his life horrible. Then one day Hagrid the half giant comes and says "Yer a wizard, Harry!" and takes him to meet his two best friends Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger. I had to put this one in here because it's a classic. Fantastic Beasts is good too. (Again, feel free to rant with me about this one).

  • Land Of Stories: This series is about twins Alex and Conner Bailey, who find a story book that takes them to a different world. It's by Chris Colder. It has a cast full of hilarious and lovable characters, some from classic fairytale a, and some new.

  • Percy Jackson: I included this one because I like the books, but let me just say it is NOTHING like the movie. Although both are good, this series is amazing by Rick Riordan. Also, this author has other book series that are good, so feel free to check them out.

  • Fablehaven: Now I am only on the second book because my friend recommended it to me, but it is really good. It's about Seth and Kendra Sorenson, who go to spend a week with their grandparents, and find out interesting family secrets and mystical creatures. Also, it's super funny. When you read this one, you will be hooked.

  • Geekerella: This book by Ashley Poston is a modern spin on CInderella, but with a twist: it's about fanfiction and fandoms. Embrace your inner geek as you read this classic retelling of Cinderella. There is also a sequel, which was awesome and a third one called 'Bookish and the Beast' which I can't wait to read!

  • Throne of Glass: this series is a bit darker than ones I normally read, but it is so, so good! I have only read 5 books so far, out of I think 7. It's about Celena Sardothien, an assassin who is in a competition. That's all I'll say for now.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All Hallow's Eve

This month is October, which is famous for the holiday known as HALLOWEEN. Many people enjoy horror-themed events, like Haunted Houses, so here are 10 extremely haunted places throughout the nation.

The Greatest Showman

The Greatest Showman is one of the best movies of 2017. It was a musical about the beginning of show business and the circus. I enjoyed watching it because it was always interesting and surprising. I

bottom of page